Iowa Events

“Governing Under the Influence” is a non-partisan education project of the American Friends Service Committee. that questioned presidential candidates on the issue of #whoprofits from war and incarceration in the months leading up to the Iowa Caucuses and NH Primary.  Our event listings were posted to enable activists, voters, and journalists to make the candidates easier to find. 

Date Time Name Candidate(s) Venuesort descending City
Thu 04/09/2015 11:00am Huckabee with Reality TV stars "19 Kids and Counting" Mike Huckabee Airport Holiday Inn Des Moines View
Thu 04/02/2015 7:15pm Meet & Greet Ted Cruz Airport Holiday Inn Des Moines View
Thu 11/19/2015 2:00pm Huckabee Huddle-The Huck Stops Here Mike Huckabee Albia Brewing Company Albia View
Mon 01/04/2016 6:00pm Huckabee Huddle - Honoring our Veterans Mike Huckabee American Legion Iowa Falls View
Sat 08/01/2015 12:30pm Pancakes and Politics Town Hall Meeting Rick Santorum American Legion Dows View
Sun 01/10/2016 2:00pm O'Malley Unplugged: New Leadership Tour Stop Martin O'Malley American Legion Iowa Falls View
Sat 04/25/2015 11:30am Rand Paul American Legion Rand Paul American Legion Vinton View
Sat 12/19/2015 12:00pm Townhall in Harlan Ben Carson American legion Post Harlan View
Sun 07/12/2015 5:30pm Spaghetti Dinner with Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal American Legion Post #26 Davenport View
Sun 11/01/2015 5:30pm Fundraising Event in support of IA State Rep. Guy Vander Linden Carly Fiorina American Legion Post #34 Oskaloosa View
Thu 01/07/2016 12:00pm Town Hall Meeting Mike Huckabee American Legion Post 136 Albia View
Mon 07/13/2015 6:00pm Believe Again Town Hall with Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal American Legion Post 6 Dubuque View
Sat 01/30/2016 7:00pm Dubuque Event Jeb Bush American Legion Post 6 Dubuque View
Thu 07/23/2015 5:30pm Fiorina event for State Auditor Mary Mosiman Carly Fiorina Ames Golf and Country Club Ames View
Fri 12/18/2015 9:00am Storm Lake Meet & Greet Ben Carson Anderson Auditorium, BVU Campus Storm Lake View
Fri 01/29/2016 10:30am Chris Christie O-Town hall Chris Christie Appanoose Rapids Brewery Ottumwa View
Tue 01/26/2016 8:45pm Keosauqua Town Hall Ted Cruz Archie's Event Center Keosauqua View
Wed 01/06/2016 10:45am Huckabee Huddle - Protecting Your Social Security Mike Huckabee Arlington Place Oelwein View
Fri 08/07/2015 6:00pm Floyd County Meet and Greet Martin O'Malley Aroma's Coffee Shop Charles City View
Tue 07/07/2015 6:00pm Floyd County Meet and Greet Martin O'Malley Aroma's Coffee Shop Charles City View
Fri 01/08/2016 3:45pm Cruzin to Caucus Town Hall Ted Cruz Aromas Coffee Charles City View
Sat 01/30/2016 9:00am Okoboji Event Jeb Bush Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center Okoboji View
Fri 07/17/2015 12:30pm O'Malley Washington County Meet and Greet Martin O'Malley Art Domestique Washington View
Sat 07/04/2015 12:00pm John Murphy for Dubuque County Recorder 4th of July BBQ Martin O'Malley Asbury Park Dubuque View
Sat 01/16/2016 3:30pm "We The People" Townhall Ben Carson Atrium Conference Room-Waldorf College Forest City View
Tue 01/26/2016 8:30pm Marshalltown Get Out the Caucus Event Hillary Clinton B.R. Miller Middle School Marshalltown View
Sat 01/09/2016 12:00pm Cruzin to Caucus Town Hall Ted Cruz Back Home Country Cookin Edgewood View
Wed 11/18/2015 5:15pm Brewery with Santorum Rick Santorum Backpocket Brewery Coralville View
Sat 01/23/2016 12:00pm O'Malley Unplugged: New Leadership Tour Stop Martin O'Malley Backpocket Brewery Coralville View
Wed 07/01/2015 5:30pm Rand Paul Meet and Greet in Okoboji, Iowa Rand Paul Barefoot Bar Okoboji View
Sun 01/10/2016 6:00pm Special Kasich Town Hall John Kasich Barley's Council Bluffs View
Fri 10/30/2015 12:00pm Council Bluffs Lunch with Marco Rubio Marco Rubio Barley's Council Bluffs View
Tue 07/14/2015 12:00pm Meet & Greet with Jeb Bush Jeb Bush Barley's Pub Council Bluffs View
Wed 12/23/2015 12:00pm Meeting with precinct captians Bernie Sanders Barley’s Council Bluffs View
Mon 07/06/2015 1:00pm Ted Cruz book signing in West Des Moines Ted Cruz Barnes & Noble West Des Moines View
Sat 10/24/2015 4:30pm Carson Book Signing Ben Carson Barnes & Noble Waterloo View
Fri 02/13/2015 12:00pm Rubio in Iowa Marco Rubio Barnes & Noble West Des Moines View
Sat 10/24/2015 1:00pm Carson Book Signing Ben Carson Barnes & Noble West Des Moines View
Sat 12/05/2015 3:30pm Meet and Greet with Carly Fiorina Carly Fiorina Bata's Restaurant Cedar Rapids View
Sat 08/15/2015 3:30pm Treat & Greet with State Rep. Charlie McConkey Martin O'Malley Bayliss Park Council Bluffs View
Fri 10/23/2015 6:30pm Pottawattamie County Republican Party Town Hall Ted Cruz Bayliss Park Hall Council Bluffs View
Wed 07/01/2015 5:00pm Council Bluffs Believe Again Town Hall Series - Gov. Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal Bayliss Park Hall Council Bluffs View
Thu 09/03/2015 12:00pm Meet and Greet with Congressman Rod Blum & Governor Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal Beck's Sports Grill Cedar Falls View
Fri 07/31/2015 5:30pm Tell It Like It Is Town Hall Meeting with Chris Christie Chris Christie Beck's Sports Grill Cedar Falls View
Fri 07/31/2015 5:30pm Town Hall Meeting at Beck's Sports Grill Chris Christie Beck's Sports Grill Cedar Falls View
Tue 01/26/2016 5:30pm Keokuk Town Hall Carly Fiorina Beef Bread and Brew Keokuk View
Sat 08/22/2015 5:30pm Wright County GOP annual dinner Rick Santorum Belmond Country Club Belmond View
Sat 01/30/2016 3:00pm O’Malley Unplugged: New Leadership Tour Martin O'Malley Bemrich Electric Ft. Dodge View
Sun 06/28/2015 12:00pm O'Malley Sioux City House Party Martin O'Malley Ben Nesselhuf and Angie Schneiderman Sioux City View
Thu 01/28/2016 3:45pm "Get Out the Caucus" Event Hillary Clinton Berg Middle School East Newton View
Fri 01/29/2016 2:30pm Muscatine Volunteer Canvass Launch Bernie Sanders Bernie 2016 Muscatine Field Office Muscatine View
Thu 01/28/2016 3:30pm Ottumwa Volunteer Canvass Launch Bernie Sanders Bernie 2016 Ottumwa Field Office Ottumwa View
Tue 12/22/2015 12:30pm Carroll HQ Opening Bernie Sanders Bernie Sanders Carroll Field Headquarters Carroll View
Mon 01/25/2016 3:00pm Newton Meet and Greet Bernie Sanders Bernie Sanders Newton Field Office Newton View
Sat 11/07/2015 6:30pm Linn County Democrats Fundraising Dinner Martin O'Malley Best Western Longbranch Hotel and Convention Center Cedar Rapids View
Sun 01/24/2016 2:00pm Cedar Rapids Town Hall Marco Rubio Best Western Plus Longbranch Cedar Rapids View
Fri 09/25/2015 12:00pm Rotary Club of North Scott County Carly Fiorina Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn Davenport View
Sun 01/10/2016 1:30pm Marshalltown Forum on Veterans Issues Bernie Sanders Best Western Regency Inn-Regency Hall Marshalltown View
Thu 07/02/2015 7:30am Fort Dodge Religious Liberty Town Hall with Gov. Huckabee Mike Huckabee Best Western Starlite Village Fort Dodge View
Fri 07/03/2015 12:00pm Bernie Sanders Storm Lake Town Hall Meeting Bernie Sanders Better Day Cafe Storm Lake View
Sat 01/30/2016 8:30am Rally with Marco Rubio Marco Rubio Bev's on the river Sioux City View
Fri 10/30/2015 4:00pm Happy Hour with Marco Rubio Marco Rubio Bev's On the River Sioux City View
Mon 01/11/2016 5:30pm Sioux City Town Hall Carly Fiorina Bev's on the river Sioux City View
Sat 01/09/2016 4:45pm Cruzin to Caucus Ted Cruz Big Ed's Firehouse New Hampton View
Mon 11/30/2015 1:30pm Clinton Cruz Town Hall Ted Cruz Big River Packaging Clinton View
Mon 08/31/2015 2:30pm Huckabee campaign event Mike Huckabee Big T Maid Rite Toledo View
Wed 04/08/2015 6:00pm Meet and Greet House Party Donald Trump Bill and Tonya Kimberley Ankeny View
Sun 06/14/2015 2:30pm Flag Day Town Meeting Bernie Sanders Bill Riley Bandshell Estes Park Iowa Falls View
Thu 07/16/2015 8:30pm Black Hawk County GOP Central Committee Meeting Bobby Jindal Black Hawk County GOP Waterloo View
Wed 04/08/2015 10:00am Trump at Simpson College Donald Trump Blank Performing Arts Center, Pote Theatre Indianola View
Thu 11/19/2015 10:00am Blondie's Coffee Outback Rick Santorum Blondie's Coffee Outback Dewitt View
Fri 08/07/2015 10:00am Webster County Meet and Greet with Martin O'Malley Martin O'Malley Bloomers on Central Gourmet Albany View
Fri 10/30/2015 12:30pm Town Hall Meeting Rick Santorum Blue Bunny Ice Cream Parlor LeMars View
Sat 01/30/2016 6:30pm Le Mars Town Hall Rick Santorum Blue Bunny Ice Cream Parlor Le Mars View
Thu 08/27/2015 10:00am CFP Le Mars Town Hall Carly Fiorina Blue Bunny Ice Cream Parlor Le Mars View
Mon 01/11/2016 7:45pm "We The People" Townhall Ben Carson Blue Bunny Ice Cream Parlor & Museum-Upstairs Event Room Le Mars View
Sun 01/17/2016 TBD Town Hall Meeting Chris Christie Blue Bunny Ice Cream Parlor and Museum Le Mars View
Thu 07/02/2015 11:30am Lindsey Graham Ice Cream Meet & Greet Lindsey Graham Blue Bunny Ice Cream Parlor Party Room Le Mars View
Tue 01/26/2016 11:45am Albia Town Hall Ted Cruz Bogie's Steakhouse Albia View
Sat 10/24/2015 10:00am Ben Carson Book Tour Ben Carson Books A-Million Ames View
Sat 08/15/2015 10:30am Boone Town Meeting Bernie Sanders Boone County Fairgrounds Boone View
Sun 01/10/2016 4:00pm Boone Forum on Climate Change Bernie Sanders Boone High School Boone View
Mon 12/21/2015 7:00pm Sioux City Town meeting with Bernie Sanders Bernie Sanders Boys Club of Sioux City Sioux City View
Fri 06/26/2015 11:30am Main Street American Family Luncheon with Gov. Mike Huckabee Mike Huckabee Breadeux Pizza Corydon View
Sat 01/16/2016 10:30am Chris Christie Town hall Chris Christie Brick City Ames View
Sat 01/23/2016 3:00pm O'Malley Unplugged: New Leadership Tour Stop Martin O'Malley Brick Tap Maquoketa View
Mon 01/18/2016 12:00pm Town Hall Forum with Marco Rubio Marco Rubio Bridge View Ottumwa View
Sat 01/09/2016 1:00pm Donald Trump Townhall Donald Trump Bridge View Center Ottumwa View
Sat 04/25/2015 10:00am Wapello County Republicans Bobby Jindal Bridge View Center Ottumwa View
Wed 12/30/2015 7:00pm Ottumwa Town Meeting Bernie Sanders Bridge View Center Ottumwa View
Sun 09/20/2015 5:30pm Believe Again Free Spaghetti Supper Bobby Jindal Bridge View Center Ottumwa View
Tue 01/26/2016 4:30pm Ottumwa Town Hall Ted Cruz Bridge View Center Ottumwa View
Sat 07/25/2015 8:30am Carly Fiorina Coffee Stop Carly Fiorina Bridgehouse Coffee Shop Newton View
Thu 06/04/2015 11:30am Luncheon Benefit Coralville Veterans Donald Trump Brown Deer Golf Course Ballroom Coralville View
Fri 07/17/2015 2:00pm Brownell Town Hall Meeting Rick Santorum Brownell Grinnell View
Tue 11/24/2015 3:00pm Grinnell Brownells Town Hall Marco Rubio Brownells, Inc. Grinnell View
Tue 01/12/2016 12:00pm Town Hall Jeb Bush Brownell’s Firearms Manufacturing Grinnell View
Thu 01/07/2016 12:00pm Town Hall Rick Santorum BrownWinick Law Office Des Moines View
Mon 08/31/2015 6:00pm Presidential Series of the Greater Des Moines Jewish Federation Rick Santorum Bucksbaum Auditorium Caspe Terrace Waukee View
Sat 08/29/2015 2:30pm #UniteIowa on Immigration Forum Martin O'Malley, Lincoln Chafee Buena Vista University Storm Lake View

Pages