Iowa Events

“Governing Under the Influence” is a non-partisan education project of the American Friends Service Committee. that questioned presidential candidates on the issue of #whoprofits from war and incarceration in the months leading up to the Iowa Caucuses and NH Primary.  Our event listings were posted to enable activists, voters, and journalists to make the candidates easier to find. 

Date Time Namesort descending Candidate(s) Venue City
Fri 07/17/2015 6:00pm Cookout and meet & greet with Governor Scott Walker Scott Walker Scott Walker's Iowa Headquarters Urbandale View
Sat 01/30/2016 7:00pm Des Moines Canvass Launch Martin O'Malley Des Moines Field Office Des Moines View
Thu 06/25/2015 2:30pm Main Street American Family BBQ with Gov. Mike Huckabee Mike Huckabee G.O.S.H. -- Good Ol' Smoke House Chariton View
Wed 07/15/2015 7:30pm "Coffee, pie, and politics" Town Hall Rick Santorum Tipton Family Restaurant Tipton View
Thu 01/28/2016 3:45pm "Get Out the Caucus" Event Hillary Clinton Berg Middle School East Newton View
Thu 04/09/2015 2:00pm "Home School Day" panel discussion Ted Cruz, Bobby Jindal, Rick Santorum, Mike Huckabee Airport Holiday Inn Des Moines View
Tue 05/19/2015 7:30am "Hope to Higher Ground" p.1 Mike Huckabee PIPAC Centre Cedar Falls View
Tue 05/19/2015 9:30am "Hope to Higher Ground" p.2 Mike Huckabee Cecil's Café Marshalltown View
Tue 05/19/2015 12:00pm "Hope to Higher Ground" p.3 Mike Huckabee Pizza Ranch Story City View
Tue 05/19/2015 2:00pm "Hope to Higher Ground" p.4 Mike Huckabee Crossroads Shooting Sports Johnston View
Sat 05/16/2015 10:00am "Make America Great Again!" Donald Trump Morningside College Sioux City View
Thu 06/04/2015 4:30pm "Make America Great Again!" Donald Trump The Music Man Square Mason City View
Fri 07/31/2015 1:30pm "No Nukes for Iran" Town Hall Meeting Lindsey Graham West Des Moines Marriott-Concord CD West Des Moines View
Sun 08/30/2015 8:00pm "Politics and Pie" Town Hall Meeting Rick Santorum Creston Family Restaurant Creston View
Sat 01/09/2016 1:30pm "Putting Families First" Presidential Forum Bernie Sanders, Martin O'Malley First Christian Church Des Moines View
Fri 01/09/2015 9:00am "Real People Ready for Real Solutions" Presidential Forum First Christian Church Des Moines View
Fri 01/29/2016 2:00pm "Trust in God" Town Hall Ben Carson University of Iowa University Club Iowa City View
Sat 01/30/2016 11:30am "Trust in God" Town Hall Ben Carson O.B. Laing Auditorium Algona View
Sun 01/24/2016 5:00pm "Trust in God" Town Hall Ben Carson Oakwood Road Church Ames View
Fri 01/29/2016 6:00pm "Trust in God" Town Hall Ben Carson Iowa Wesleyan University Chapel Mt. Pleasant View
Mon 01/11/2016 8:30am "We The People" Townhall Ben Carson Fort Frenzy Fort Dodge View
Mon 01/11/2016 7:45pm "We The People" Townhall Ben Carson Blue Bunny Ice Cream Parlor & Museum-Upstairs Event Room Le Mars View
Sat 01/16/2016 12:00pm "We The People" Townhall Ben Carson Dave's Restaurant Charles City View
Thu 01/21/2016 3:00pm "We The People" Townhall Ben Carson YMCA Glenwood View
Fri 01/22/2016 1:30pm "We The People" Townhall Ben Carson Creston View
Mon 01/11/2016 11:45am "We The People" Townhall Ben Carson Abundant Life Ministries Jefferson View
Sat 01/16/2016 3:30pm "We The People" Townhall Ben Carson Atrium Conference Room-Waldorf College Forest City View
Mon 01/11/2016 2:15pm "We The People" Townhall Ben Carson Cronk's Restaurant & Lounge Denison View
Fri 01/22/2016 8:00am "We The People" Townhall Ben Carson The Garrison House Clarinda View
Fri 01/22/2016 11:00am "We The People" Townhall Ben Carson Ringgold County Hospital Mt. Ayr View
Fri 01/22/2016 7:00pm #AllVotesMatter BET Twitter Townhall Ben Carson Drake University Des Moines View
Fri 10/23/2015 7:30pm #RockinTheBern Concert Bernie Sanders Adler Theatre Davenport View
Sat 08/29/2015 2:30pm #UniteIowa on Immigration Forum Martin O'Malley, Lincoln Chafee Buena Vista University Storm Lake View
Thu 05/28/2015 9:00am 'Stand With Rand' Meet and Greet Rand Paul The Longergan Group Clinton View
Thu 01/21/2016 7:00pm 'We The People" Townhall Ben Carson Community Center Atlantic View
Sat 07/25/2015 12:00pm 13th Annual Hockensmith for Supervisor Picnic Martin O'Malley Grandview Park Des Moines View
Thu 09/17/2015 11:00am 15th Annual Marshalltown BBQ Jim Webb UAW Local No. 893 Marshalltown View
Sat 10/31/2015 9:30am 2015 Caffeinated Thoughts Bobby Jindal, Rick Santorum, Mike Huckabee Ramada Inn & Conference Center Des Moines View
Tue 09/22/2015 11:30am 2016 Caucus Candidate Forum Series Rick Santorum Iowa State Historical Museum Des Moines View
Wed 06/24/2015 11:30am 2016 Caucus Candidate Series John Kasich Iowa State Historical Building Des Moines View
Fri 07/24/2015 11:30am 2016 Caucus Candidate Series: Martin O'Malley Martin O'Malley State Historical Building Des Moines View
Mon 11/02/2015 9:00am 2016 Presidential Candidates Forum on Manufacturing Carly Fiorina Vermeer Corporation Global Pavilion Pella View
Fri 12/04/2015 3:00pm 2nd Amendment Event Ted Cruz Crossroads Shooting Sports Johnston View
Sat 07/25/2015 4:15pm 3rd Congressional District Democratic Central Committee “Summer Wine Down” Martin O'Malley Madison County Historical Complex Winterset View
Sat 07/18/2015 9:00am 4th annual Family Leadership Summit Donald Trump, Marco Rubio, Ted Cruz, Bobby Jindal, Rick Santorum, Rick Perry , Mike Huckabee, Scott Walker, Ben Carson, Lindsey Graham Cy Stephens Auditorium Ames View
Sat 07/04/2015 10:00am 4th of July Parade Bobby Jindal TBD Urbandale View
Sat 08/01/2015 1:00pm 6th Annual Sweet Corn Daze Rick Santorum Townsquare Rockwell City View
Sat 06/06/2015 9:00am 94th Annual VFW State Convention Lindsey Graham Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Bettendorf View
Mon 12/07/2015 12:15pm AARP New Leadership Forum Martin O'Malley Windsor Heights Community Center Windsor Heights View
Mon 11/30/2015 10:30am ACT & Iowa Assoc. of Independent Colleges & Universities Candidate Forum with John Kasich John Kasich Coe College, Dows Fine Arts Center Cedar Rapids View
Tue 01/19/2016 8:30am ACT and IAICU Presidential Candidate Forum Series Carly Fiorina Wartburg College Waverly View
Sun 08/02/2015 6:30pm Adair County Republican Banquet Rick Santorum 5x80 Golf Course Menlo View
Fri 06/26/2015 8:30am Adams County GOP Meet & Greet w/ Dr. Ben Carson Ben Carson Corning Opera House Corning View
Fri 10/30/2015 7:00pm Address to Spirit Awards Martin O'Malley State Historical Museum Des Moines View
Wed 01/27/2016 10:45am Adel Get out the Caucus Event Hillary Clinton Adel Family Fun Center Adel View
Fri 01/29/2016 7:00am Affinity Breakfast Club Event Rick Santorum Meeting Des Moines View
Fri 07/24/2015 6:00pm AFSCME Iowa Council 61 Convention Martin O'Malley Holiday Inn Des Moines Airport Conference Center Des Moines View
Sat 07/25/2015 7:30pm AFSCME Iowa Council 61 Convention Hillary Clinton Holiday Inn Airport Convention Center Des Moines View
Fri 07/24/2015 12:30pm AFSCME Iowa Council 61’s state convention Bernie Sanders Holiday Inn Airport Convention Center Des Moines View
Sat 09/05/2015 1:00pm AFSCME meeting Bernie Sanders Prairie Meadows Hotel Altoona View
Sun 09/06/2015 1:00pm AFSCME Town Hall Hillary Clinton Des Moines Area Community College Newton View
Sat 09/05/2015 1:00pm AFSCME Townhall Martin O'Malley Altoona View
Thu 07/23/2015 3:00pm Agriculture Roundtable with State Rep. Mike Sexto Carly Fiorina New Co-Op Offices Fort Dodge View
Tue 01/26/2016 11:45am Albia Town Hall Ted Cruz Bogie's Steakhouse Albia View
Fri 07/17/2015 12:00pm Americans for Peace, Prosperity and Security (APPS) Iowa National Security Forum Lindsey Graham Council Chambers Room-Veterans Memorial Building Cedar Rapids View
Sat 05/30/2015 2:00pm Ames Grassroots for Bernie Celebration Bernie Sanders Torrent Brewing Company Ames View
Wed 05/27/2015 7:00pm Ames House Party Rick Santorum House Party Ames View
Thu 06/25/2015 6:30pm An Evening with Rick Santorum Rick Santorum The Bella Terre Glenwood View
Mon 01/04/2016 6:00pm An evening with Ted Cruz Ted Cruz Winterset Stage Winterset View
Sat 12/12/2015 10:00am Anamosa Forum on Racial Justice and Prison Reform Bernie Sanders Strawberry Hill Elementary School Anamosa View
Sat 01/23/2016 2:00pm Ankeny Rally with Glenn Beck and Ted Cruz Ted Cruz Faith Baptist Bible College-The Nettleton Center Ankeny View
Wed 12/16/2015 9:00am Ankeny Rally with Marco Rubio Marco Rubio The Courtyard Marriott Ankeny View
Sun 01/10/2016 7:00pm Ankeny Town Meeting Bernie Sanders DMACC Ankeny Campus-FFA Enrichment Center Ankeny View
Fri 06/05/2015 5:15pm Announcement Meet & Greet Lindsey Graham VFW Post 1623 – Sullivan Brothers Post Waterloo View
Wed 06/17/2015 5:15pm Announcement Tour Town Hall Jeb Bush Molengracht Plaza Pella View
Sat 08/08/2015 5:30pm Annual Hardin County GOP Sweetcorn/Gourmet Burger Feed Bobby Jindal, Rick Perry Ellsworth College Equestrian Center Iowa Falls View
Sat 09/26/2015 4:00pm Annual Hog Roast John Kasich Westfair Council Bluffs View
Fri 08/14/2015 5:00pm Annual Iowa Wing Ding Hillary Clinton, Bernie Sanders, Martin O'Malley, Lincoln Chafee Surf Ballroom Clear Lake View
Fri 10/30/2015 7:45am Annual Pheasant Hunt Rick Santorum Akron View
Mon 06/15/2015 11:30am APPS National Security Forum Bobby Jindal Mudd Advertising Cedar Falls View
Wed 07/15/2015 11:30am APPS National Security Forum with Dr. Ben Carson Ben Carson Charles & Romona Myers Center-University of Dubuque Dubuque View
Thu 08/13/2015 2:00pm APPS National Security Forum with Jeb Bush Jeb Bush St Ambrose University-The Beehive Student Union Davenport View
Sat 09/26/2015 10:00am APPS National Security Forum with John Kasich John Kasich Morningside College-UPS Auditorium - Lincoln Center Building Sioux City View
Wed 11/11/2015 12:30pm Atlantic Town Hall Meeting Jeb Bush Coca-Cola Bottling Company Atlantic View
Tue 01/19/2016 5:00pm Avoca Meet and Greet Carly Fiorina The Embers Restaurant Avoca View
Wed 08/26/2015 7:30pm Baldwin Organizing Event Hillary Clinton Tabor Home Vineyards & Winery Baldwin View
Sat 12/05/2015 9:00am Barbershop Meet and Greet Rand Paul Hairport Barber Shop Waterloo View
Fri 07/24/2015 8:15pm Beaverdale Meet and Greet with Martin O'Malley Martin O'Malley Des Moines View
Mon 08/31/2015 6:00pm Believe Again Free Pizza Dinner Bobby Jindal Pizza Ranch Sheldon View
Sun 09/20/2015 5:30pm Believe Again Free Spaghetti Supper Bobby Jindal Bridge View Center Ottumwa View
Sat 07/18/2015 1:00pm Believe Again Machine Shed Town Hall with Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal Machine Shed Restaurant Urbandale View
Sat 06/27/2015 9:45am Believe Again Ted Cruz Event Ted Cruz Drake University Sheslow Auditorium Des Moines View
Mon 07/20/2015 5:00pm Believe Again Town Hall Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal Thunder Bay Grille Davenport View
Sun 10/11/2015 5:30pm Believe Again Town Hall Series Featuring Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal Mason City VFW Post 733 Mason City View
Mon 08/17/2015 6:00am Believe Again Town Hall Series Featuring Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal Elks Lodge #112 Sioux City View
Wed 09/30/2015 6:00pm Believe Again Town Hall Series Featuring Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal The Celebration Farm Iowa City View
Tue 08/11/2015 6:00pm Believe Again Town Hall Series Featuring Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal Johnson County Fairgrounds-Montgomery Hall Iowa City View
Sat 07/25/2015 6:00pm Believe Again Town Hall Series Featuring Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal Fisher Community Center Marshalltown View
Wed 10/07/2015 6:00pm Believe Again Town Hall Series Featuring Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal Mid-America Center Council Bluffs View
Tue 08/25/2015 6:00pm Believe Again Town Hall Series Featuring Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal Fisher Community Center Marshalltown View

Pages