Iowa Events

“Governing Under the Influence” is a non-partisan education project of the American Friends Service Committee. that questioned presidential candidates on the issue of #whoprofits from war and incarceration in the months leading up to the Iowa Caucuses and NH Primary.  Our event listings were posted to enable activists, voters, and journalists to make the candidates easier to find. 

Date Time Name Candidate(s) Venue Citysort descending
Fri 02/20/2015 1TBD Lindsey Graham Lindsey Graham View
Thu 02/19/2015 1TBD Lindsey Graham Lindsey Graham View
Wed 01/27/2016 3:00pm Iowa Pork Congress Presidential Forum Carly Fiorina Hy-Vee Hall Room 102 Des Moines View
Thu 12/31/2015 10:00am Knoxville Town Meeting Bernie Sanders Northstar Elementary School Knoxville View
Mon 09/07/2015 10:00am Jackson County Labor Day Meet and Greet Martin O'Malley Flapjacks Family Restaurant Maquoketa View
Sat 01/23/2016 7:00pm Maquoketa Town Meeting Bernie Sanders Centerstone Inn and Suites Maquoketa View
Sat 04/25/2015 11:30am Rand Paul American Legion Rand Paul American Legion Vinton View
Thu 07/16/2015 6:00pm Waterloo Believe Again Town Hall Series Featuring Governor Bobby Jindal Bobby Jindal VFW Post 1623 Waterloo View
Tue 10/06/2015 11:30am Huckabee Huddle-The Huck Stops Here Mike Huckabee Pizza Ranch Ackley View
Wed 01/27/2016 10:45am Adel Get out the Caucus Event Hillary Clinton Adel Family Fun Center Adel View
Sat 10/31/2015 10:30am Gov. Huckabee at Pheasant Hunt Mike Huckabee Doc's Hunt Club Adel View
Sat 10/31/2015 2:30pm Cong. Steve King's Annual Col. Bud Day Pheasant Hunt Ted Cruz Hole 'N the Wall Lodge Akron View
Fri 10/30/2015 7:45am Annual Pheasant Hunt Rick Santorum Akron View
Fri 08/07/2015 10:00am Webster County Meet and Greet with Martin O'Malley Martin O'Malley Bloomers on Central Gourmet Albany View
Thu 01/07/2016 12:00pm Town Hall Meeting Mike Huckabee American Legion Post 136 Albia View
Tue 01/26/2016 11:45am Albia Town Hall Ted Cruz Bogie's Steakhouse Albia View
Thu 11/19/2015 2:00pm Huckabee Huddle-The Huck Stops Here Mike Huckabee Albia Brewing Company Albia View
Sat 09/26/2015 2:00pm Monroe County Meet and Greet hosted by Former Lt. Governor Patty Judge Martin O'Malley Albia View
Mon 08/31/2015 8:00am Coffee and Conversation town hall meeting Bobby Jindal Highway Restaurant Albia View
Mon 09/28/2015 5:30pm Bruce Rastetter's Presidential Town Hall Series Chris Christie Summit Agricultural Group Alden View
Thu 08/13/2015 5:30pm Fiorina Town Hall Carly Fiorina Summit Agricultural Group Alden View
Sat 01/30/2016 11:30am "Trust in God" Town Hall Ben Carson O.B. Laing Auditorium Algona View
Mon 01/11/2016 2:00pm Town Hall Rick Santorum Algona View
Tue 12/16/2014 6:00pm Keynote speech at Progress Iowa Holiday Party Bernie Sanders Prairie Meadows Event Center Altoona View
Tue 01/27/2015 TBD Iowa Renewable Fuels Summit Rick Santorum Meadows Conference Center Altoona View
Thu 11/12/2015 11:30am Rand Paul Altoona Meet and Greet Rand Paul Pizza Ranch Altoona View
Sun 11/01/2015 1:00pm Iowa Gun Show Rick Santorum Adventureland Park-Palace Theater Altoona View
Sat 09/05/2015 1:00pm AFSCME meeting Bernie Sanders Prairie Meadows Hotel Altoona View
Sat 09/05/2015 1:00pm AFSCME Townhall Martin O'Malley Altoona View
Sat 03/07/2015 5:30pm Mike Huckabee at Pizza Ranch in Altoona Mike Huckabee Pizza Ranch Altoona View
Mon 07/27/2015 11:15am Iowa State Education Association (ISEA) Summer Leadership Conference (Closed) Hillary Clinton The Meadows Event and Conference Center Altoona View
Thu 08/06/2015 2:00pm Iowa Federation of Labor AFL-CIO Presidential Forum Bernie Sanders, Martin O'Malley, Jim Webb, Lincoln Chafee Praire Meadows Altoona View
Sun 09/20/2015 1:30pm Gov. Scott Walker Meet and Greet Scott Walker Serena's Coffee Cafe Amana View
Sun 11/15/2015 12:30pm Central Iowa Democrats Fall BBQ Hillary Clinton, Martin O'Malley Hansen Agriculture Student Learning Center Ames View
Sat 05/16/2015 9:30am Story County GOP Breakfast Bobby Jindal Oakwood Road Church Ames View
Sat 09/12/2015 11:00am Republican Party of Iowa Tailgate Rand Paul, Donald Trump, Marco Rubio, Scott Walker Jack Trice Stadium, Lot S-7 Ames View
Thu 06/11/2015 1:00pm Chris Christie in Ames Chris Christie Hickory Park Restaurant Co. Ames View
Sun 07/26/2015 TBD Organizing event in Story County (Open to Public) Hillary Clinton Ames View
Mon 07/13/2015 6:30pm Story County GOP Dinner - Jeb Bush keynote Jeb Bush Prairie Moon Winery Ames View
Sat 01/30/2016 11:00am Cruzin to Caucus Ted Cruz Gateway Hotel-Garden Room Ames View
Sat 10/24/2015 10:00am Ben Carson Book Tour Ben Carson Books A-Million Ames View
Wed 01/27/2016 7:15pm O’Malley Unplugged: New Leadership Tour Martin O'Malley Torrent Brewing Company Ames View
Thu 12/10/2015 12:15pm Iowa State Meet and Greet with Marco Rubio Marco Rubio Maintenance Shop Ames View
Wed 05/27/2015 7:00pm Ames House Party Rick Santorum House Party Ames View
Mon 02/01/2016 5:00pm Rand Paul Iowa 10,000 Rally! Rand Paul Iowa State University Ames View
Sat 02/07/2015 1:00pm Rand Paul at ISU: Student Rally Rand Paul Iowa State Center Ames View
Sat 05/16/2015 10:00am Working Families Summit 2015 Robert Reich Scheman Building, ISU campus Ames View
Tue 07/21/2015 6:00pm Jindal Town Hall Series Bobby Jindal Oakwood Road Community Center Ames View
Sat 05/30/2015 2:00pm Ames Grassroots for Bernie Celebration Bernie Sanders Torrent Brewing Company Ames View
Thu 11/12/2015 8:00am Rand Paul Ames Meet and Greet Rand Paul Hilton Garden Inn Ames Ames View
Sat 01/23/2016 12:30pm Town Hall Meeting Marco Rubio Iowa State University Alumni Center Ames View
Wed 11/11/2015 9:00pm Pints for Liberty Rand Paul Jeff's Pizza Ames View
Sat 01/30/2016 7:00pm Town Hall with Carly Fiorina Carly Fiorina Scheman Building Ames View
Tue 09/22/2015 3:00pm Iowa State Town Hall Meeting Rick Santorum Iowa State University Memorial Union, The Gallery Ames View
Sat 06/06/2015 9:30am Marco Rubio Meet and Greet Marco Rubio Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center Ames View
Sat 09/19/2015 2:30pm Graham Story County Meet & Greet Lindsey Graham Olde Main Brewing Co Ames View
Sun 01/24/2016 5:00pm "Trust in God" Town Hall Ben Carson Oakwood Road Church Ames View
Sun 01/31/2016 5:30pm Special Event with Chris Christie Chris Christie Prairie Moon Winery Ames View
Sat 02/21/2015 6:30pm Bernie Sanders at Story County Democratic Party Soup Supper Bernie Sanders Collegiate United Methodist Church Ames View
Thu 07/23/2015 5:30pm Fiorina event for State Auditor Mary Mosiman Carly Fiorina Ames Golf and Country Club Ames View
Tue 12/16/2014 12:00pm Town Meeting Bernie Sanders Collegiate United Methodist Church Ames View
Sat 08/29/2015 7:30pm Iowa State Meet and Greet Martin O'Malley Stomping Grounds Coffee Ames View
Sat 01/30/2016 11:45am “Get Out the Caucus” Event Hillary Clinton Howe Hall, Iowa State University Ames View
Tue 01/19/2016 5:00pm Trump ISU Townhall Donald Trump ISU - Hansen Agricultural Student Learning Center Ames View
Mon 11/30/2015 1:15pm Town Hall with Gov. John Kasich John Kasich Iowa State University Memorial Union Campanile Room Ames View
Thu 04/23/2015 7:00am Story County republican breakfast Carly Fiorina Pizza Ranch Ames View
Fri 08/28/2015 3:00pm Iowa State University Presidential Caucus Series Carly Fiorina Iowa State University Presidential Caucus Series Ames View
Mon 01/25/2016 12:00pm Iowa State University Town Meeting (Presidential Caucus Series) Bernie Sanders Stephens Auditorium, Iowa State Center Ames View
Sat 01/30/2016 3:30pm Rally with Rubio ISU Marco Rubio Scheman Building (on campus of Iowa State University) Ames View
Sat 07/18/2015 9:00am 4th annual Family Leadership Summit Donald Trump, Marco Rubio, Ted Cruz, Bobby Jindal, Rick Santorum, Rick Perry , Mike Huckabee, Scott Walker, Ben Carson, Lindsey Graham Cy Stephens Auditorium Ames View
Sun 06/28/2015 6:30pm O'Malley Ames House Party Martin O'Malley Home of Carolyn and John Klaus Ames View
Fri 09/11/2015 7:30pm ISU Stand for Rand Paul rally Rand Paul Iowa State University Memorial Union, Sun Room Ames View
Mon 01/04/2016 8:30am Story County GOP Breakfast Mike Huckabee Oakwood Road Church Ames View
Thu 06/11/2015 11:00am Speech on Education Chris Christie Iowa State University, Memorial Union, Upper Terrace Ames View
Sat 01/16/2016 10:30am Chris Christie Town hall Chris Christie Brick City Ames View
Tue 01/12/2016 10:00am Organizing Event Hillary Clinton Iowa State University-Benton Auditorium Ames View
Mon 02/01/2016 12:00pm ISU Presidential Series Town Hall Martin O'Malley Iowa State Memorial Union-South Ballroom Ames View
Fri 07/17/2015 7:30am Huckabee Huddle-The Huck Stops Here Mike Huckabee McOtto's Family Restaurant Anamosa View
Thu 01/07/2016 12:30pm Carson Town Hall Ben Carson National Motorcycle Museum Anamosa View
Thu 11/12/2015 2:00pm Meet and Greet with Chris Christie Chris Christie McOtto's Anamosa View
Sat 12/12/2015 10:00am Anamosa Forum on Racial Justice and Prison Reform Bernie Sanders Strawberry Hill Elementary School Anamosa View
Wed 07/15/2015 5:30pm Greet and dine with Rick Santorum Rick Santorum McOtto's Family Restaurant Anamosa View
Sun 09/06/2015 5:00pm Jones County Meet & Greet Martin O'Malley Lawrence Community Center Anamosa View
Wed 08/26/2015 11:15am Remarks on Policy to Strenghten Agriculture and Rural Communities Hillary Clinton FFA Enrichment Center-Des Moines Area Community College Ankeny View
Thu 08/13/2015 6:30pm Polk County GOP Annual Summer Sizzle Jeb Bush Ankeny View
Fri 09/11/2015 5:30pm Rubio Meet & Greet Marco Rubio Firetrucker Brewery Ankeny View
Fri 07/03/2015 10:00am O'Malley DMACC Ankeny Event Martin O'Malley Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) Wind Turbine Technology Center Building 3E Ankeny View
Sat 07/25/2015 9:30am DMACC Town Hall Meeting with Chris Christie Chris Christie Des Moines Area Community College Automotive Lab, Building 13 Ankeny View
Sat 05/16/2015 2:30pm Rep. Landon Fundraiser w/Scott Walker Scott Walker The Pinnacle Club Ankeny View
Thu 01/28/2016 9:30am Coffee with Carly Carly Fiorina Main Street Cafe & Bakery Ankeny View
Sun 01/10/2016 7:00pm Ankeny Town Meeting Bernie Sanders DMACC Ankeny Campus-FFA Enrichment Center Ankeny View
Wed 12/16/2015 7:30pm Town Hall Lakeside John Kasich Lakeside Center Ankeny View
Wed 12/16/2015 9:00am Ankeny Rally with Marco Rubio Marco Rubio The Courtyard Marriott Ankeny View
Tue 01/19/2016 12:00pm Iowa Renewal Fuels Association's 10th annual Iowa Renewable Fuels Summit Donald Trump, Carly Fiorina, Rick Santorum The Meadows Conference Center Ankeny View
Wed 04/08/2015 6:00pm Meet and Greet House Party Donald Trump Bill and Tonya Kimberley Ankeny View
Wed 11/18/2015 5:15pm WhoTV Health Care Town Hall Meeting Bobby Jindal DMACC Ankeny Campus, Building 6 Auditorium Ankeny View
Tue 01/12/2016 7:00pm Town Hall Jeb Bush FFA Enrichment Center Ankeny View
Tue 01/26/2016 8:30am Huckabee addresses Faith Baptist Bible College Mike Huckabee Faith Baptist Bible College-The Nettleton Center Ankeny View
Mon 08/17/2015 6:30pm Marco Rubio Family Picnic Marco Rubio Dean Park Ankeny View
Sat 01/23/2016 2:00pm Ankeny Rally with Glenn Beck and Ted Cruz Ted Cruz Faith Baptist Bible College-The Nettleton Center Ankeny View

Pages